srcvinyl will release Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story – The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack on vinyl for the first time ever, on November 24. The LP, in both limited edition red and clear vinyl, is now available for pre-order here.

The 2007 Columbia Pictures comedy starred John C. Reilly as the larger-than-life, legendary musician and songwriter Dewey Cox.

From the comedic minds of Judd Apatow (Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby; Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy) and director Jake Kasdan, a new music legend in Dewey Cox was born and now, for the first on vinyl, the songs of Cox’s fabled career are brought together on one album:Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story – The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack.

The soundtrack features a sampling of Dewey Cox’s greatest hits, spanning over five decades of his musical history. Once Apatow and Kasdan had conceived the ideas for a lifetime’s worth of songs, album producer Michael Andrews tapped some of America’s top tunesmiths, including Van Dyke Parks, Dan Bern, Mike Viola, Charlie Wadhams, Antonio Ortiz, and Marshall Crenshaw, to write the new classics. All 15 songs are performed by the Academy Award-nominated actor John C. Reilly as Dewey Cox.

Featured on the soundtrack are 14 of his original songs. Included are such tracks as ”Walk Hard,” the hit that made him a star, the sexually suggestive ”Let’s Duet,” the twangy ”Guilty as Charged,” the emotional ballad ”A Life Without You (Is No Life At All),” even the touching and poignant protest song, ”Let Me Hold You (Little Man).” In addition to the Cox-penned classics, also included is the heart-wrenching lounge disco interpretation of David Bowie’s ”Starman.”

Vinyl Color: 180 Gram Clear (LTD 1,000) and 180 Gram Red (LTD 500)

Track Listing


1 Walk Hard (Written by Marshall Crenshaw, John C. Reilly, Judd Apatow and Jake Kasdan)

2 Take My Hand (Written by Antonio Ortiz, Judd Apatow and Jake Kasdan)

3 (Mama) You Got To Love Your Negre Man (Written by Michael Andrews, John C. Reilly, Robert Walter, Judd Apatow and Jake Kasdan)

4 A Life Without You (Is No Life At All) (Written by Mike Viola)

5 Let’s Duet (Written by Charlie Wadhams and Benji Hughes)

6 Darling (Written by Mike Viola and John C. Reilly)

7 (I Hate You) Big Daddy (Written by Mike Viola)

8 Guilty As Charged (Written by Charlie Wadhams and Gus Seyffert)


9 Dear Mr. President (Written by Dan Bern and Mike Viola)

10 Let Me Hold You (Little Man) (Written by Dan Bern, Mike Viola and Manish Raval)

11 Royal Jelly (Written by Dan Bern)

12 Black Sheep (Written by Michael Andrews and Van Dyke Parks)

13 Starman (Written by David Bowie)

14 Beautiful Ride (Written by Dan Bern and Mike Viola)

15 (Have You Heard The News) Dewey Cox Died (Written by Dan Bern)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.