It Saturday! Saturday! Saturday! and its more than alright as Sir Elton John is commencing the first of six Sydney shows for his sold-out Farewell Yellow Brick Road Tour. 

The stage is set and it is announced Sir Elton John is ready to perform. The man is wearing elegant formal attire with sequins adoning the shoulders. We wait with anticipation for that first note and then as he strikes an oh so familiar key, its Bennie And The Jets a prefect way to open up and get us bopping along.

Looking down at the stage it is everything you come to associate with an Elton John concert simple elegance with flair. Two raised platforms house the band along with a huge LCD screen it works quite effectively as graphics play the background and the super screen shows the maestro hands at work.

Between songs Sir Elton talks to the audience giving insights into his career. How his 52 year writing partnership has worked, how he will compose a song and a video for it in his head at the same time giving further impact to how the imagery that is on the screen ties into the songs sang tonight.

Every single song on the set list tonight was played with such precision and grace. Be it the beautiful Candle In The Wind or the jiving Crocodile Rock but some songs just had something extra. Those live music moments you don’t get at home or on the album that just make being there that much more special. Two such songs were: Indian Sunset, a very different piece of music amongst Sir Eltons work and when performed live, its band member since 1971, percussionist Ray Cooper that really makes the track stand out and leave a lasting impression on us fans. The second had to be my personal favourite Rocket Man, not only was the video backdrop utilized at its best for this song but the outro was completely extended as the maestro shone brighter then the moon in the dark night sky, as his finger danced upon the keys making the hairs on my body stand up, truly phenomenal.

50 years of touring is no small feat and as Elton himself says it is wonderful to write music for an album but nothing comes close to performing for another human being. But it is time to say farewell and to be with the other most important thing in his life and that is his family who are in the audience tonight. He thanks our country for the support we have shown since 1971 and gets everybody up with I’m still Standing.

The time had come to draw the curtain closed on tonights show and as we sang Goodbye Yellow Brick Road as yellow ticket take would rain down upon the audience and Sir Elton and his grand piano slowly drifted across the stage, we would stand, clap and cheer then say thank you Sir Elton John for the music, the shows and all you have given the world. The evening can only be described simply as an unforgettable memory. I could definitely feel the love that Sydney has for Elton tonight.

Review – Chad Heard

Gallery – Christian Ross

SYDNEY, NSW
Monday 23 December 2019 – ICC Sydney Theatre – SOLD OUT
ticketek.com.au

SYDNEY, NSW
Tuesday 7 January 2020 – Qudos Bank Arena – SOLD OUT
ticketek.com.au

SYDNEY, NSW
Thursday 9 January 2020 – Qudos Bank Arena – SOLD OUT
ticketek.com.au

HUNTER VALLEY, NSW
Saturday 11 January 2020 – Hope Estate – SOLD OUT
ticketek.com.au

HUNTER VALLEY, NSW
Sunday 12 January 2020 – Hope Estate – SOLD OUT
ticketek.com.au

SYDNEY, NSW
Tuesday 14 January 2020 – Qudos Bank Arena – SOLD OUT
ticketek.com.au

BRISBANE, QLD
Thursday 16 January 2020 – Brisbane Entertainment Centre – SOLD OUT
ticketek.com.au

MOUNT COTTON, QLD
Saturday 18 January 2020 – Sirromet Wines – A Day On The Green – SOLD OUT
ticketmaster.com.au

MOUNT COTTON, QLD
Sunday 19 January 2020 – Sirromet Wines – A Day On The Green – SOLD OUT
ticketmaster.com.au

BATHURST, NSW
Wednesday 22 January 2020 – Carrington Park – SOLD OUT
ticketek.com.au

WOODEND, VIC
Saturday 25 January 2020 – Hanging Rock – LIMITED TICKETS
ticketmaster.com.au

WOODEND, VIC
Sunday 26 January 2020 – Hanging Rock – SOLD OUT
ticketmaster.com.au

RUTHERGLEN, VIC
Wednesday 29 January 2020 – All Saints Estate – A Day On The Green – SOLD OUT
ticketmaster.com.au

YARRA VALLEY, VIC
Friday 31 January 2020 – Rochford Wines – A Day On The Green – SOLD OUT
ticketmaster.com.au

YARRA VALLEY, VIC
Saturday 1 February 020 – Rochford Wines – A Day On The Green – SOLD OUT
ticketmaster.com.au

DUNEDIN, NZ
Tuesday 4 February 2020 – Forsyth Barr Stadium – SELLING FAST
ticketmaster.co.nz

HAWKE’S BAY, NZ
Thursday 6 February 2020 – Mission Estate Winery – SOLD OUT
missionconcert.co.nz

HAWKE’S BAY, NZ
Saturday 15 February 2020 – Mission Estate Winery – SOLD OUT
*Moved from Saturday 8 February 2020
missionconcert.co.nz

AUCKLAND, NZ
Sunday 16 February 2020 – Mt Smart Stadium – SOLD OUT
*Moved from Sunday 9 February 2020
ticketmaster.co.nz

AUCKLAND, NZ
Tuesday 18 February 2020 – Mt Smart Stadium – SOLD OUT
*Moved from Tuesday 11 February 2020
ticketmaster.co.nz

AUCKLAND, NZ
Thursday 20 February 2020 – Mt Smart Stadium –SELLING FAST
ticketmaster.co.nz

MELBOURNE, VIC
Saturday 22 February 2020 – AAMI Park
ticketek.com.au

COFFS HARBOUR, NSW
Wednesday 26 February 2020 – C.ex Coffs International Stadium 

ticketek.com.au

TOWNSVILLE, QLD
Saturday 29 February 2020 – North Queensland Stadium
ticketmaster.com.au

SUNSHINE COAST, QLD
Tuesday 3 March 2020 – Sunshine Coast Stadium
ticketek.com.au

SYDNEY, NSW
Saturday 7 March 2020 – Bankwest Stadium
ticketek.com.au


Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.